Home > mood, type 1 diabetes > bad dreams and 5-irons

bad dreams and 5-irons

I’ve been having lots of trouble with bad and disturbing dreams, often waking me up and making it hard to fall back asleep. Another one last night, woke me up around 2 and I didn’t get back to sleep til maybe 3:30. Maybe someday I’ll dream more peacefully again. It’s hard waking up almost every night because of these dreams.

Golfed yesterday. I’ve been playing poorly some the prior two times out and yesterday wasn’t looking much different from those. But I began playing better on the back-9 and also gained an insight on why I’ve been having so much trouble with chips and pitches near the green. I’ve been already aware that I have troubles with the full swing because of the adhesive capsulitis in the left shoulder, I can’t make a full backswing and there are times when I go back, I feel the shoulder yelp some, and I’ll make a terrible swing in response to that.

But I hadn’t connected the shoulder problem with what was happening on the chips and pitches, which were a couple of issues I had identified but couldn’t resolve — inconsistent contact, going from fat to thin, and troubles with decelerating on the strokes. But the inconsistent contact wasn’t all from deceleration, even on ones I accelerated the swing through the ball there was inconsistent contact. But yesterday, on the back-9, I had caught up to a couple of players in front of me, and they were really bad. I had no one behind me, so I elected to stay behind the two in front of me and practice some chips and pitches around the greens. On one of the first ones I tried as practice, I didn’t grip down with my right forefinger and thumb. My right pinky overlapped my left hand, and the ring and middle finger were the gripping fingers of the right hand. In doing so, I was reminded of how important it is for the left arm to pull the club through a swing.

That’s when I realized that with the left shoulder’s problems and the weaker condition of the arm, that often my right hand had been trying to take over while chipping and pitching. Bad things happen to a golf swing for right-handed golfers if the right hand tries to dominate. That’s what had been happening to me, and I suspect it’s what’s been happening on a lot of my bad full swings as well. The weakened left arm is failing to do its job, and my right arm and hand tries to take over.

So that’s a problem right now with my golf swing. I’ll just have to work on concentrating on having the left arm do its job. I can fix the chips and pitches easily enough by keeping the right thumb and forefinger off the grip. Full shots that’s not an option because they need to stay on the grip to give a fully powerful swing. There’ll I just have to keep in my head that I want the left arm to pull things through.

The titular 5-iron occurred at the 16th hole. I hit a poor drive at 16, popped up and pulled to the left. The ball settled down in some thickish rough and I had to settle for hacking it out into the fairway to about 145 yards away from the center of the green. The wind was blowing hard straight into me and I felt that I needed a 5-iron to try to get the ball to the front of the green where the pin was. I hit it solid and the shot ran nicely up onto the green and ended up 3 feet directly behind the hole. I putted for the par.

I shot a 43 on the back. My best back-9 at Delcastle so far this year from the white tees and not bad with how strong the wind was yesterday.

The left shoulder continues to improve slowly. I think the swelling of the joint and inflammation continue to diminish, although it’s still there some. Last week I had one instance of where I went to grab the handle of the fridge here at work, I missed the handle and without the weight of the door being pulled, I jerked my arm back hard into the joint. I almost dropped to my knees in pain. So there’s still some inflammation in the joint, I guess. Although maybe it was caused by all the gunk that has accumulated in the joint. That’s what I’m trying to work on now, getting that gunk broken up so the joint can move more freely and my body can work on removing the debris.

Overall, frozen shoulder in the left hasn’t been as bad as the right shoulder was 7 years prior. I’ve been able to keep a larger range of motion and the pain wasn’t nearly so intrusive. Even so, it has sucked a lot. And I feel very frustrated right now sometimes that I can’t lift my left arm straight up and that I only have two comfortable sleeping positions. Or cross my arms comfortably. Or put my hands on my hips. Frozen shoulders suck. If it was just pain with no loss of range of motion, it would suck. If it was just loss of range of motion with no pain, it would suck. The combo the two and how long it takes just makes a frozen shoulder horrible. When this one finally resolves, I will have had nearly 4 years of my life affected by frozen shoulder. Now I’m just hoping I won’t be one rare unfortunate few who get to suffer recurrences of frozen shoulder. Most everything says that’s extremely rare, but I’m not counting on that. I’ve had it in both shoulders now.

At least the shoulder will heal in time. I don’t know about the dreams.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

