Home > mood, type 1 diabetes > oh goodness

oh goodness

Blood sugars have been good today. 92 mg/dL when I woke up today, highest has been 131 mg/dL and the lowest was 76 right before lunch.

I’m now taking 6.0g of GABA each day. 4 times a day, 2x750mg capsules. I weigh about 74kg and over in a thread at the Diabetes Forums, a person who had a PDF of the research paper with the mice was able to calculate that the dose was about 1g for every 12kg of bodyweight. I took my first capsules on July 20th, then from the 21st through 25th I took 4.5g per day. Since the 26th, I’ve been taking 6g per day.

One thing I’ve realized is that if the beta cells do begin to regenerate, it could make for some interesting times ahead. Interesting isn’t always good though. Things could be interesting if the number of hypos increase, and so because of that, I need to be diligent about always having plenty of fast-acting carbohydrate stocked up.

The outlandish prospect that perhaps this works and I get native insulin production again, it’s made me wonder some: will I be able to stop testing blood sugars? Let’s say it happens, over time I gradually reduce the amount of insulin I need and finally one day I find I don’t need to inject any Lantus to cover basal needs or any Novolog to help with meals.

But what then? So far in this world, there has been no person with type 1 diabetes that has had their own beta cells regrown because the autoimmune attack stopped or was sufficiently downregulated to allow the pancreas margin to grow beta cells again. It may well be that I would have to continue taking GABA for the rest of my life to keep my immune system properly aligned, so to speak.

But there would always be that worry: What if the immune system goes more awry again? Could a person go from being insulin dependent to non-insulin dependent back to insulin dependent? I see no reason why not. And because of that, I would probably continue to have some protocol of blood sugar surveillance. Check that blood sugar some day in the morning. On another day, test before a meal and then test after the meal. Basically, look for signs that the blood sugar control is degrading.

I’ve also decided that if the amazing improbable happens and I stop having to inject insulin, I will resume running again and run a marathon. Maybe it won’t be as challenging as it would have been, but it would be a challenge all the same. And I was ready to run a marathon once, back in 2009, but events unfolded such that I chose to only run the half-marathon that day and run with a person I loved deeply, run with her rather run my own race. Sometimes I wonder if I made the right decision, sometimes I don’t wonder. I did what seemed right that day, I know that.

But much of the time we may be wrong. And no one really knows. No one ever knows.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

