Yikes

I woke up at 1:30. Not from bad dreams, just needed to pee. But then I couldn’t fall back asleep until 4:30 and was rewarded with a series of naps and dreams. The worst one had me riding in a van with some unknown strangers. The driver was taking us to the Laurentians in Quebec. At one point, I saw a turtle crawling around in some deep snow. We stopped near a gas station and through an open window I heard some woman yelling in French at a mechanic.

But somehow we ended up in Vermont and I found myself at a train station. A train station which I have no fond memories of.

We celebrated my brother’s birthday yesterday. One of his presents was a calendar with pictures of Vermont. When the calendar was passed around, I just passed it along because I couldn’t stand the idea of all the memories about Vermont coming back.

—-

I fought hypos on Saturday while being somewhat active. I dropped the Lantus dose to 18u and did well on it yesterday and overnight. So I stuck with 18u this morning.

So what’s the GABA doing? Is it just slowing down the production of glucose by my liver, and thereby reducing how much insulin I need? Or has it begun to turn off the autoimmune attack enough that some beta cells are regenerating and not getting nuked by the immune system? I have no way of directly measuring that. I can only observe the details of my blood sugars and how much insulin I need to keep in control. But if insulin needs keep dropping, then maybe 2 weeks from now when I go to my doctor’s appointment, I will tell him about what I’ve been doing, what I’ve observed and asking if I might get blood drawn for a c-peptide measurement.

Of course, there is yet another slight but not impossible possibility to explain the drop in how much insulin I need: kidney failure. The kidneys actually remove insulin from the body, so diabetic patients who go into kidney failure will need less insulin. I suspect that’s extremely unlikely as I’m exhibiting no other signs of kidney failure.

  1. August 10, 2011 at 2:26 pm

    Just today I found your blog. Forgive me for being a bit insensitive to other topics you discuss, but I would really like to hear more about your experience with GABA. I am a type 1 diabetic, too….

  2. scratchtype1
    August 10, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    I plan to continue writing about this as things progress or if they don’t progress. I dropped the Lantus dose to 17u yesterday and did well. The same today although it seems like I’m getting a bit more downward drop with blood sugars than yesterday, so I might elect to drop it to 16u tomorrow.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

