Home > mood > Some stuff is just too funny

Some stuff is just too funny

So last week I was at work and a little before 2, I started to feel like my chair was shaking. I thought maybe some huge truck or something was nearby. But it kept going. Eventually I went across the hall and asked a coworker if she felt things were shaking. She said yes and then it finally hit me. It was an earthquake. That was the most I’ve ever felt the earth shake in my life. I remember one other time back in the 80s I was sitting on the toilet and felt an earthquake. But that’s it in my life for memorable earthquakes.

Then we got Irene this past weekend. I had to do some work down in the basement due to a bit of flooding. Lots of people around here without power due to trees falling across power lines.

But here I’m at work today and got to see this wonderful bit of theology and politics wrapped up in ball of stupid insanity. This is Michele Bachmann’s opinion on what an earthquake and hurricane on the east coast means:

I don’t know how much God has to do to get the attention of the politicians. We’ve had an earthquake; we’ve had a hurricane. He said, ‘Are you going to start listening to me here?’ Listen to the American people because the American people are roaring right now. They know government is on a morbid obesity diet and we’ve got to rein in the spending.

You know, if you think God is actually talking to you,  it might be time to seek qualified professional help.

But what does that mean that there are a large number of Republican voters who would want to see this woman be our president? Are they insane too?

Even if she wasn’t being serious, it’s in fairly poor taste seeing how many people have been killed or suffered other losses due to the quake and Irene.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

