Home > fitness > Half a bag

Half a bag

The golf course played long yesterday, really long. This area is apparently transforming into a rain forest climate, 2 months of a whole lot of rain has resulted in pretty much everything being soggy. I would guess that even upscale courses with fancy draining systems are probably soggy. The public muni I play on is soggy from top to bottom.  So there is very little roll in the fairways, and when you swing and make good contact, the ball doesn’t compress between the clubface and the ground.

And yesterday the temperature was about48 to 50 degrees.

But anyhow, I decided to try an idea that had been tickling around in my head some, playing with only 7 clubs. One reason was just to see how it would feel to play a round with a limited selection of clubs and another reason was to make it easier to hoof it around and carry my bag. One difficulty this year with the left shoulder and its lack of external rotation is that I can’t I put my stand bag on both shoulders, I end up carrying it around on just my right shoulder the whole round. This results some in my right shoulder tiring out towards the end of the round.

So when I got to the course and took my bag out of the car, I then removed the 3-wood, the 4, 6, and 8 irons, the pitching wedge, sand wedge and lob wedge from the bag and put them in the trunk. I went out with just the driver, hybrid, the 5, 7, and 9 irons, the gap wedge and putter.

It makes the bag a lot lighter.

Due some to how long the course played yesterday, I only hit 2 greens in regulation all day, the par-5 7th hole, and the par-3 9th. The 7th hole I hit an uphill 7 iron about 115 yards to get on the green, the 9th hole where this year I’ve been hitting 6-irons, I used the hybrid to get on. But in spite of only 2 GIRs, I still made 7 pars on the day.  In fact, I had 7 one-putts, and no three-putts, so only 29 putts for the day.  And if a few more of the putts had rolled a tiny bit farther, it could have been down around 26 putts for the day. My gap wedge, 9-iron, and 7-iron did a lot of good work with chips and pitches around the green.

Now if only things could dry out around here some. Chance of showers both today and tomorrow, then they’re predicting clear and sunny weather through Sunday. I’ll believe when I see it. Thursday last week, the forecast was saying it would be dry over the weekend.  Nope, soggy soggy soggy. I miss the sun.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

