Home > Esperanto, mood > Dreams of Esperanto in Russia

Dreams of Esperanto in Russia

Last night I dreamed I was jogging in Russia. I have no clue why I would be dreaming that. My memories of this dream are somewhat fuzzy now, but at some point there ended up being a couple of guys moving along with me and they were, being Russian, speaking Russian. Or what I dreamed to be Russian. I heard one of them use a word which sounded like dek, so I turned to them and said, “Dek estas la vorto for 10 en Esperanto.” This made them give me a look like I was crazy and they ran off.

I don’t believe I’ve ever had a dream like that, a dream about imagined Russian and then me spitting out a sentence that was both Esperanto and English.

—-

I came across the word naztruoj yesterday. Naz means nose. Truoj means holes. Nose holes. Nostrils. Yes, the Esperanto word for nostrils is nose holes. This makes me laugh. Naztruoj ridigas min. Nose holes makes me laugh.

There’s a bit of an unfortunate effect. If you turn naz into a verb, it becomes nazi. Although I don’t really know if Esperanto does like English does so often with bodyparts. I don’t know if oni povas nazi something out. Checking the Lernu vortaro doesn’t reveal nazi being used as a verb. So probably not.

I came up with the sentence La vorto naztruoj ridigas min fairly intuitively yesterday. In Esperanto, ridi means to laugh and it’s an intransitive verb. But Esperanto has a way of turning verbs that are intransitive into transitive ones, you use the suffix ig. Ig means to cause or make something. So if I add ig to rid, I’ve got something that makes or causes laughter. Ridigi is to make or cause laughter. Then I attach n to mi because it’s the object of what’s causing the laughter.

Rideti is laugh a little, which becomes to smile. I don’t know if I entirely agree with that meaning, I think chuckle could be more appropriate, but it’s commonly accepted that to smile in Esperanto is rideti. If we add ig to that, we get ridetigi, to make something or someone smile.

There are some amazing features that arise out of Esperanto’s short set of rules and word building capabilities.

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

