Home > Esperanto, mood > bag of onions

bag of onions

There’s a bag of onions here with me at work today. It stems in part from the Wawa convenience store, which I used to stop at in the mornings, from being closed down for a remodel. Because of that, I’ve altered my route to go into work to stop at a supermarket, where I now buy a quart of milk and 2 yogurts every other day. Seeing how that’s a much cheaper deal than Wawa, I’ll probably not go back to Wawa when it reopens. But this morning on my way to buy the yogurt and milk, I realized that I needed onions at home, along with coffee filters. So I bought those as well. Now I don’t have to stop at the market when going home, but I have a bag of onions in my office here at work. It didn’t seem good to leave a bag of onions in a car when the temp might reach near 100 degrees today.

—-

To continue to improve my Esperanto, I recently began corresponding with someone from Hungary who speaks hardly any English. And I know no Hungarian save for “hogy vagy?” which is the way to ask “how are you?” I think it’s helping. While my reading comprehension had gotten pretty good, there were still gaps. Actually having to put things into Esperanto is helping to cement some things in deeper, and also make them easier to access when I am reading. Last night I read chapter 3 from La Hobito and my comprehension was really really good. I read a lot of it without translating it into English, just had a few odd words that I didn’t recognize right off, and a few less used sentence or phrase styles which would cause me to drop out and take some time to figure out the meaning.

Then afterwards, as I fell asleep, I found myself remembering sentences from the chapter. I haven’t had that too much before. But it probably points to how whatever it is that brain cells need to have in them for a language to become rapidly fluent, it’s getting into them. I have sentences, statements and phrases that percolate up out of me during the day. Still I wonder when I will, if ever, hit a level at some point that I will finally hit a long protracted stretch of time that I will think in Esperanto? Or is English so deeply rooted into me that it will never happen. Are my instincts are so attuned to English that Esperanto or any other language will never be able work directly with those instincts?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

